My Name Is Memory

1 09 2010

Daniel has loved Sophia for thousands of years. He remembers her and everything that he has gone through every time he is reborn. But Sophia starts fresh every life she lives but when she meets him, every part of her being knows that she loves him too.

“Well. It’s a strange thing,” I explained. “With each birth your body starts out fresh and mostly blank, but then you print yourself on it over time. You hold onto old experiences: injuries, injustices, and great love affairs, too.” I glanced up at Sophia. “And you hold them in your joints and your organs and wear them on your skin.”

“You do.” She was giving me that same look of indulgence, but it was less confident.

“We all do.”

“Because we live again and again?”

“Most of us.”

“Not all of us?” Her indulgence showed more signs of genuinely wanting to know.

“Some live only once. Some a very few times. And some just go on and on and on.”

“Why?”

I put my head back on my pillow. “That is hard to explain. I’m not sure I really know.”

“And you?”

“I’ve lived many times.”

“And you remember them?”

“Yes. That’s where I’m different than most people.”

Ann Brashares addresses two things in her new Novel My Name Is Memory, love and reincarnation. Something all of us have been fascinated with. It definitely draws the attention about making corrections in each lifetime and the choices that we make now; something wherein one way or another, ripples through another existence. In My Name Is Memory, the main character’s goal is to correct and achieve love that is meant to be. It revolves between two star-crossed lovers that keeps coming back in order to set their lives right. But in every lifetime, only Daniel remembers and each time, he attempts to remind Sophia who they are.

I definitely fell in love with the novel even after just a few page. It is very inventive and charismatic; the part where they kept losing each other throughout life was very absorbing. I’ve heard about its release eight months before it actually did and I wrote it down as one of my must reads. Now I can say that the wait was worth it. It fed my need to read an honest romance novel and I was not afraid to recommend it to friends. I am still enthralled by the story and I just can’t wait to read the next – yes, this one is set for a trilogy.

There is a hint of The Time Traveller’s Wife crossed with a little Nicholas Sparks fashion in this story. Surely, My Name Is Memory can easily become a novel-made-for-the-movies. I think it does have potential as a box office magnet and young readers can certainly sink their teeth with another swoon worthy protagonist. 

Like most books that I fell in love with, this novel doesn’t start quiet. You an easily wrap yourself around the fresh narrative and get lost in the eons of struggle to carry out a destiny.

Actions

Information

One response

27 09 2010
weighty

gonna send this to my mom

Leave a Reply

