Cats Now and Forever

25 08 2010

I wish to avoid the obvious pitfalls of reviewing a musical. I haven’t seen much, save for Glee, so I will limit my thought to what is evident. And please forgive me if I can’t provide much – you are always welcome not to continue.

The fuzz about Cats is over-rated for the middle-class. Unlike Miss Saigon’s ticket price (I still have the poster so I can recall just by looking), it is not so reasonable. For Cats, the truth is, the middle class can do without. It is a spectacular exhibition of song and dance (love the tap) enmeshed by several excerpts of different cats. So yes, we are not following one story here; we are watching several snippets of each characters. All of which are simply spectacular. For the middle-class it is not necessary but for the rich, this is loose change.

Cats is Andrew Lloyd Webber’s musical demonstration of T.S. Elliots Old Possums Book Of Practical Cats. It talks about the Jellicle Cats and their annual Ball of which one cat is chosen to be reborn. The spectacle moves from one cat’s story-telling to another.

Like any theatre rule, none of us were allowed flash photography. However, technology has allowed us to circumvent this rule, thanks to my multi-tasking mobile phone. Although I would not choose this over my EOS 7D, it still worked its purpose. I stole shots and got reprimanded once but still snapped-away towards the end of the second act. I must point out that this does not mean I allow such behaviour, let’s just say it was much too difficult to follow specially when it’s all you have to show for as a proof that you were actually there.

Though my seat price of P6000 plus didn’t brought me to a roaring standing ovation, something I freely gave to Miss Saigon and refused to sit-down for several minutes, I was glad to have seen Ms. Lea Salonga do what she does best. She really has a thunderous command when she starts singing, something she was not shy giving the song “Memory”. I made a point to reserve a date that guarantees I won’t be watching her understudy.

It was colourful, it was fabulous, the voices superb, the bodies under the tights are gorgeous and the dancing, marvellous. I wish to see more Broadway shows here in my country and I wish that the next won’t take long.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

