A Gotten Exemption

7 06 2010

He was … Or I was – whichever you prefer.

(get some fresh air … breathe … try not to think … try)

I don’t sleep around. Don’t fool around. And I don’t cheat for the purpose of kicks and ego.

When I’m with someone, that someone takes second next to the All-Powerful. There is a profound respect for both of us and the relationship we are trying to build. I have been a good girl all my life and the one time I conscientiously took a leap, the exception did not catch me. And I am sure he doesn’t know the extent of the pain he has caused.

One day, a great jolt happened – I veered to make an exception. And I learned that right is always right and the wrong has its way of presenting itself so nicely – I was fooled by the grays, the ifs and the buts. The thing about ‘wrong’ is that when you’re not looking it will gut you mercilessly.

I broke one rule and went with him. I sent to heaven’s my hopes that he will see me past the events of our first meeting. But he didn’t. I was, I think, must have been concluded as someone whom he can just leave without so much as a care.

So I tried to steer things in the right direction; to where I know is right. God, knows my heart was in the right place. But he won’t shake off his ways and he never made any change. He continued to overlook me and all enthusiasm slowly went out the door.

I am a good girl, who bought to the idea that we should just free-fall and who took a chance for all the right reasons – Only it was for the wrong man heart.

(go back inside … rain is coming … get a long cold shower … try to sleep … try)

The first time I heard this song on the radio, I instantly thought of you. I wondered why at first, then the lyrics jumped out and reminded me the little details to answer the whys.

So nice to see your face again
Tell me how long has it been
Since you’ve been here
(Since you’ve been here)
You look so different than before
You’re still the person I adore
Frozen with fear
All out of love but I take it from the past
All out of words cause I’m sure it’ll never last

I’ve been saving these last words for one last miracle
But now I’m not sure
I can’t save you if you don’t let me
You just get me like I’ve never been gotten before

Maybe it’s a bitter wind
That chilled from the pacific rim
That brought you this way
(Brought you my way)
Do not make me think of him
The way he touched your fragile skin
That haunts me every day
I’m out of love but I can’t forget the past
I’m out of words but I’m sure it’ll never last

I’ve been saving these last words for one last miracle
But now I’m not sure
I can’t save you if you don’t let me
You just get me like I’ve never been gotten before
Like I’ve never been gotten before

So nice to see your face again
But tell me will this ever end
Don’t disappear

I’ve been saving these last words for one last miracle
But now I’m not sure
And I can’t save you if you don’t let me
You just get me like I’ve never been gotten before
Like I’ve never been gotten before

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

