The Shack

1 02 2010

I’ve been meaning to write a book review for The Shack but it has dragged around like a worthless item thrown at the bottom of my To Do List.

But alas, a free afternoon found me and I thought of clearing all my pending works.

So what’s it about?

Well, The Shack is novel about a man whose daughter was brutally murdered. What follows are series of coping and continuing to live a life that resembles what they think should be decent enough. And then one day, he gets a letter from God to meet him where his daughter died. Yeah I know, talk about tripped out stuff. If I was the one who gets a letter from God, I’d be checking what I’m smoking and drinking.

To make my long-winded semi-review short, this book escapes me. I do have a fair understanding of The Almighty; brought about by years of strict Catholicism. Something that is fundamental and arbitrary is to understand the deep meaning of the Old Testament and how it relates to the New Testament. So this piece of literature doesn’t develop coherently for me. I may not be dashingly articulate about the Bible but I sure hell (no pun intended) have been indoctrinated enough to know that forgiveness does not come as easily as a snap of a finger. It was a good read, don’t get me wrong, but by the time I hit center it rapidly went down-hill from there.

It might have been sitting in the Best-Sellers List for 5,827 years but I still don’t get it. Yeah, it tried to be existentialist, but there is no argument in that when you inject religion in it. Duh! Don’t even get me started with its trying-hard Fundamentalist crutch. Pah-lease!

This book is faulty at most, dopey, pretentious and blah blah blah. I don’t recommend it. I’d rather read The Lovely Bones, at least I’ll learn something there that’s entirely not hooey.

Currently listening to Glycerine by Bush via Launchcast

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

