Coffee Shop Scribbles

27 01 2010

This morning, after getting official word that Avatar finally decided to nudge Titanic off its top spot, I took a beeline to the closest theater that has 3D. Now, sitting at a coffee shop sipping my honeyed Earl Grey tea, I can say that the novelty hasn’t faded. It still is a kick-ass movie and I think it’ll be that way for a long loooong time.

This is going to be my second, and hopefully not the last, viewing. I still haven’t seen it in 2D and given that I’m running out of time (they will soon take it off circulation for newer films), I feel I have to have it on my calendar soon.

The final tally (in dollar amount) will come in Tuesday evening US time.

***

I currently have four unread books sitting on my shelf. Just enough to last me until (perhaps) May — dang, I would read  twice as much if I wasn’t so darn lazy.

I have the new novels written by Audrey Niffenegger and Elizabeth Kostova; both lengthy novels that would need proper time management. The other two –  written by Neil Gaiman and James Patterson, can be safely and comfortably tackled during one of my weekends. Actually, if I’m a good girl, I can cover all four by the end of March. Given I still have five to eight more on my purchase list, I acknowledge that I do have to get a move on.

***

Do you remember me pining about a little black dress? Well I finally got one and it’s so pretty.

I just hope it’ll still be pretty on me, too.

There isn’t any special occasion to tell you honestly. I just felt the need to get one, well because I’m a girl. And sometimes, girls just like to buy pretty dresses. I promise myself that I’ll wear it on my engagement party.

But first, allow me to hunt a man for that occasion. LOL.

***

Enough of these musings … hmm, musings. Why does that word hang in my tongue like I was supposed to do something about it. Why, oh why? Hmm … oh shoot! Now I get it. Me, Mona and Ayie are supposed to be putting up a blog with that name. Muse and Musings, that was what we agreed on. And we were supposed to be discussing more of it over Skype.

I can’t believe I’ve been so inattentive with my comings and goings. This is an important project, how the hell did I manage to forget it?

I can be an awful friend sometimes.

***

I’ve just gone and finished reading a book.

In between writing these thoughts down, thinking about a guy with an accent, sipping my tea, calculating my expenses for the past few days, and watching people type away in their laptops (I’m doing this article old school — pen and paper), I finished reading a book.

I may or may not write a review about it but I wanted you to know it was very good. Now I suddenly feel I have to write two book reviews (one I finished yesterday and this) … for readers that may or may not exist.

***

A calm day; I need more of these.

The kind that does not clutch itself on deadlines. The kind that can while away inside a coffee shop that plays lite music. The kind that isn’t toxic, infuriating, hodgepodged, and unbelievably fast it can’t be described as living but coping. To some degree, I now understand why people like hanging out at coffee shops.

But first off, I should do this more often. Write long-hand, I mean.

Although my laptop have provided me with numerous  assistance, it still can’t beat the eternal power of the physical hand to pen and pen to paper. To where the world is at  this has now become a rarity. I don’t even know anyone who writes their journal/ diary via paper. And that’s saying a lot coming from someone who use to be surrounded by writers in dire need of therapy.

Sit on this one if you will. Do you know anyone who comes in a coffee shop armed with pen and paper with a sincere intent for cursive?

Write down an assignment, a letter (to be sent via post — something I also want to talk about), a research, a plan, a grocery list, daily expenses, a simple note etc. Some of you will say yes, but it’ll be very few. On your next coffee shop visit, sit there a little longer than you usually do and you will find out that I do have a case. Count the number of laptop (or any electronic writing device) versus pen and paper.

Note to self: At least now you have a reason purpose to sit for long hours at a coffee shop: Long hand and spelling. God knows how lousy you are with spelling.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

