A Volunteer’s After Thought

24 01 2010

Before I headed off to my weekend, I signed up to volunteer. I’ve volunteered before, but it was nothing like Hope For Haiti Now.

First, I really felt like I was a part of something important. Something big and good. And then, there’s the amount of money people are willing and very much happy to give. There was one donor who commented after I said thank you, that if he had more he would give more but he was a family man currently in need of a job. That, in itself, spoke magnitude of how people, in the precipice of humanity, is willing to share.

I did it for free and the time, oh the dear precious time I gave taking in call after call in order to bridge their donations, sure felt great. Usually people would rather just go out and have fun on a Friday night (especially soon after pay day) but I saw faces in the crowd that instead of partying their disposable money away, sat and looked at a monitor to read verbiages, punched keys away and assured callers that their help means a whole lot than they would ever know. Somehow they can say to themselves that they too can make a difference. At least, for me I felt that.

What’s also noticeable was the smiles I see and hear from each volunteers voices. I think it still exist in humans, that innate kindness and unexplainable bond to souls that none of them have met. A few minutes later an encouraging voice said we all needed to pick up the pace, to take more calls in less time. Why? Because just in our centre, we have 2000 calls waiting in queue. And that’s just in our small centre, how about the hundred satellites we have scattered all over– the world was calling in to help. And we can’t be happier.

I went home, felt happy and at the same time proud, knowing that help is on its way and I hoped that there was more of this goodness happening in the word. It’s true that you actually get more when you give.

It just hurts to know that as much as we can be kind, we can also be horribly cruel. That if we can be united we can also be so divided that war is almost always one of the choices we consider. It’s sad that it takes a magnitude 7.0 earthquake to remind us this.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

