The Deluge: Day 3

6 10 2009

… and the days to follow …

I still don’t understand.  This thought framed my mind in silence. I think this is what they mean of too confused for words.

Yesterday, I made a choice to get up today and continue life as I know it. It may have been a huge slice of rotten garbage but I was not willing to let it beat me … not yet at least. The decision and the right amount of rest and sleep gave me the bravado to step out of the room and assess things – Weigh every broken pieces of it.

Disconnected from the world for two and summat days, I was in need of the daily paper. There was a need to know the chronological order of things and where the world’s at. I also need to charge my cellphone’s battery after it went dead more than 12 hours ago.

But first off, breakfast.

September 28:

6am: When I stuck my head out the terrace, it still smelled of rotten garbage. The city is unbelievably dirty. From broken pieces of homes and from the muck the flood brought with it. The dogs pen needed to be cleaned before we can bring them back to it. They would also need to eat.

8am: I headed to the office. I needed to charge my phone and have the kitchen cook me something decent. Unfortunately, they only had ham and Yakisoba. I bought both and had mom eat the ham and rice. We both took a huge gulp of coffee to set the day right, even though the back of my head kept insisting we were not. Looking back, this is the first time in … hmm, forever? … since I’ve seen the office deserted. No one went to work and the place seemed like a ghost town. Eerie. 

9am: While charging my phone and after printing the Sunday and Monday paper, I headed to the wet market to buy as much provisions as I can. I bought matches, brooms, scrubs and a huge pale most of which are for cleaning.

11:30am: They opened the grocery. By this time it was pandemonium. The city was in dire need of candles and lucky for me I knew the isles like the back of my hand. The moment I got in, it was a literal mad dash to the candles, bleach, canned goods, and so many foods that only indicated that I was in a tizzy. When we got home around 1pm, I spent a total of six thousand just to stock up.

2pm: The cleaning starts. It was time to roll up my sleeves, put my cleaning gloves on, a mask to lessen the stink from being sensed and I was hell bent to clean up. I think the entire city was doing the same thing. By this time, it was difficult to ignore the congealing grime and muck that stuck wherever water reached. From here until the night sets – or up until I realized I’m working under the light of a candle – I  remained unthinking. It was just a mechanical reflex to clean, clean and clean some more.

After days of being tormented, I slept better owing to the fact that I was too damn tired to think. Although I was unable to finish cleaning (I didn’t even come close to half), the following days brought cleaning parties made of relatives and an offer of help from Tito Ramon (Mona’s Dad), whom I haven’t talked nor seen for ages.

It was a slow rise to going back to normal. I may never be the same again after this deluge but I found out that I, like everybody else in the city, is resilient. I may never know how the people who was responsible for opening the dams can justify the deaths and the lose, somehow I know that I made it through.

I just hope the idiot who is sitting in power fester slowly and live a long looooong life of physical pain. She deserves it, just like we deserve to realize that we have a government ran by monkeys because we insist on wishing our lives were like the telenovelas we watch.

The city still stinks.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

