Begging For Trouble

24 09 2009

Smart, prissy, eloquent, important people like me don’t read over rated vampire novels. We read philosophy driven masterpieces – the kind that creates profound opinions. We – meaning the minority of sharp human beings – boss people around, frown a lot, buy expensive coffees everyday and have only super intellectual things to say.

No, not really. 

I may be pretty stuck up with the books I read but this one is just too much fun to look down on. The truth is, I’ve been staring at my bookshelf for days now. I’ve wondered aimlessly when I’ll start re-reading New Moon. Alright, there it is. I’ve said it; I’m addicted to these scrumptious vampires and werewolves. But hey, it doesn’t change the fact that I am still smart, prissy, eloquent and important.

Of all the four, New Moon hit me closer. It’s almost as if few of its pages were lifted from my own life (note: I did not jump off a cliff… and I will not. I can kill myself on the ground, thank you very much). You know that part where you flipped pages that represented months of impregnable void? That’s me sometime in the past. It felt good to know that it did not end dreadfully yet you traveled its quaint designs. At least, even in imagination the characters redeemed you in a pseudo first person approach.

And do you know who makes me shiver in a good way? Jacob.

He is one guy who is more than willing to take it to the wire. And perhaps since I’ve had too little representations of that kind of chivalry in my life, I felt that his self deprecating ways to get into the heart of the one he loves is astounding… an astounding feat of self delusion.

When I say astounding feat of self delusion that’s the super intellectual talking. I mean for someone hotter than a stove can’t he just find someone else a little less dense? And to those who’d say they’ll pass a Jacob Black and still go for the emo vampire … Oh come on, wouldn’t you want someone to go crazy for you that way?  I mean pubescent crazy in love crazy. He may be trudging a hopeless existence but hey, he’s hopeless for you. And if someone is willing to be used in that level without giving it a second thought, go for it. We can always use someone who would love to be used.

I think its lovely that after all the damages life has done to you, there is a Jacob that will try to put you back.

Sometimes, levels of thoughtlessness is good. This is when we get to live more. This is when a sudden disregard of good judgment becomes the spice that makes looking back so great. The vanity of ownership and careless abandon aaahhh, what a healthy dose of trouble.

But going back, I think if New Moon was directed well it wouldn’t end up as pretentious as the first. The romance in the plot is already diabetes inducing, there was really no need to climb a tree to represent it.

I shouldn’t be procrastinating; I should just take it off the shelf and curl in my bed with a box of Kleenex. But wait, I still have to finish The Historian.

I trust that’s the intellectual thing to do.

Currently listening to The Bucket by Kings of Leon via Launchcast

Actions

Information

One response

24 09 2009
Begging For Trouble | diabetes

[…] Continued here: Begging For Trouble […]

Leave a Reply

