Quit Snappin’ Cornballs

12 02 2009
I had no plans of shooting myself in the foot. Besides, this was after all, just a hobby.

It was an unintended decision to place an entry at the photo contest. I’ve gone to art galleries and listened to lectures about good photography and I can confidently say, I’m ages away from achieving a decent picture for display. It is this very obstacle of insignificance that hinders me from turning this whole hobby to something worthwhile. Don’t ask me why, I have no idea. This is not a case of devaluing one’s self, just a case of playing with sick thrills. Sort of like driving a car without a license and having people know that you can.

We were suppose to narrate with our pictures. Do I know how to complicate my life or what?  If you want narration, I’ll draw it out using this very medium of narration – words. But if it’s a darn photo contest, that’ll be a different story. So how do we go about it in the most subtle non smart-alecky way?

Aha!

I heard somewhere, that in the case of good books, the point is not how many of them you can get through, but rather how many can get through to you ... thats the same with love I suppose.

My photo entry caption: I heard somewhere, that in the case of good books, the point is not how many of them you can get through, but rather how many can get through to you ... that's the same with love I suppose.

They wanted something to celebrate Valentine’s Day, so I decided to be extra cheesy and placed a heart in the mix. Maybe playing up the romantic and tangled up version of a modern day Romeo and Juliet would help. Thus the book choice. Anyway, pop culture is supposed to be the rave of free thinkers nowadays. 

Try as I may, I can’t achieve a photo narration without words. So sue me.

Currently listening to It Ends Tonight by All American Reject via Yahoo Music

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

