Use Somebody

5 02 2009

I’m in my rock mood. Thanks to Kings of Leon and their song Use Somebody.

First time I heard it, I was running errands somewhere. I had my big dark glasses on and my earphones dug in my ears like a nail that refuses to be pried. Walking from building to building, shops to shop and city to city, it came like rain.

It was loud, just as I hoped it would be. It was also an awsome song with a fluid lead guitar, a melody hard to top and difficult to forget. Songs like these don’t come by as often as it used to, gawd I miss the Seattle grunge era. I was just a child then, but Runaway Train spoke volumes to me.

I was, I remember vaguely, going to the bank or perhaps off to the bakeshop to grab some tarts. Tall buildings to my left and right, and the sidewalk was littered with people going about their business. We were sharing the same space but light-years apart from each other. As the song played, I imagined the city streaking by leaving traces of light in their wake. A slight reminder that strangers are so insignificant until they decide otherwise.

I’ve been roaming around
Always looking down at all I see
Painted faces, fill the places I cant reach

You know that I could use somebody
You know that I could use somebody

Someone like you, And all you know, And how you speak
Countless lovers under cover of the street

You know that I could use somebody
You know that I could use somebody
Someone like you

Off in the night, while you live it up, I’m off to sleep
Waging wars to shape the poet and the beat
I hope it’s gonna make you notice
I hope it’s gonna make you notice

Someone like me
Someone like me
Someone like me, somebody

Someone like you, somebody
Someone like you, somebody
Someone like you, somebody

I’ve been roaming around,
Always looking down at all I see

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

