The First Few Paragraphs

15 12 2008

I got in trouble when I made a stupid decision to open my mouth about a huge project that I don’t intend to blow out of proportion. I was simply blabbing, with two or three glasses of wine in my blood, when I told everyone that I was mad enough to undertake a novelette.

I decided to shut up soon after but got the better of me when someone egged me to share. This is exactly what I was trying to avoid, people who will challenge me, just to either humiliate me or annoy me. If I will continue, this is the last time anyone will ever get to have a glimpse of the project … until the whole thing’s finished.

 

The Tale Of He (working title)

Prologue

The End Of Peace

Because I could not stop for Death —
He kindly stopped for me —
The Carriage held but just Ourselves —
And Immortality.

-Emily Dickinson-

We were at the backyard of his house when I decided to break from the group for a few minute breather. I went to sit at the porch and leaned to look at the deep dark sky. I was silent and calm, just allowing myself to fall to the sky. Me and nothing in between but the vast space and freedom. I blinked a few times to straighten my sight. Wow. It streaked of stars. Clear, like diamonds deep within a dark pond but without the ripples. It was beautiful, you don’t get this in the city.

If it wasn’t for the crickets and the smell of trees, I would have believed that I am falling safely. Not quite sure where, but I’m falling. I should be scared I know and I never should invite such thoughts. It was ridiculous but putting my mind the right side up was never really helpful. I would not survive a day. I heard them laughing from a distance, my friends, who knew nothing of my worries. Knew nothing of my fear. But listen I did, as I looked into the sky and allowing it to clear my thoughts

A few minutes later, he ambled to look for me and breathed a sigh of relief when he saw me sitting at the bottom step of his porch. He sat there too, not speaking, and stared to the heavens just the same. I couldn’t take my eyes off of it, odd because the one person I was very much fond of looking at is so close. I wondered why I felt at home. Wondered why this picture proved more inviting than his warm embrace.

He sat there as still as I am. Wanting to know what was in my head and hoping that he could take me back to earth. He knew I can be like this. Just taking timeouts in my head, a sort of sleeping while awake. But he decided to be patient, fighting the need to hold my hand in the dark. He could if he wanted to, I won’t stop him. At least we can fall into freedom and diamonds together. I laughed in my head for a moment, imagining how funny it would be just to fall helplessly into one of my dreams.

Time drifted like the little paper boat I use to put on a weak stream after the rain, and he opened his mouth.

Can I take you back now?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

