The Tales Of Beedle The Bard

8 12 2008

tales-of-beedle-the-bard I love the smell of a new book, especially if it’s something I’ve been meaning to have. Last Thursday noon, The Tales Of Beedle The Bard arrived on my doorsteps and I had the pleasure of thumbing through its pages.

It takes so little to work me up when it comes to literature and the excitement peeks to a hilarious conclusion – imagine me jumping around like a child on Christmas Day. I gave it what composure I could but I almost always fail. Try as I may, still, I jumped around.

The Tales Of Beedle The Bard contains five children’s stories popular in the wizarding word. It is a supplement to the extremely popular Harry Potter novels. Advertised as a translation of the original runes by Hogwarts student Hermione Granger and with commentaries at the end of each story by Albus Dumbledore. While fans will not identify any additional information to their beloved Harry Potter series, they will no doubt enjoy the fables that promote underlying messages.

“The Wizard and the Hopping Pot” – is a story about a greedy wizard who refuses to help until his riches rebound on him.

the fountain of fair fortune“The Fountain of Fair Fortune” – is a story about yearning and the hard work you put into it to achieve your dreams.

“The Warlock’s Hairy Heart” – is a story about pride and the consequences of ones actions.

“Babbitty Rabbitty and her Cackling Stump” – is a story about telling the truth and being true to yourself. It also speaks of cruelty and how it can affect you.

the_tale_of_the_three_brothers“The Tale of the Three Brothers” – amongst all five, this is perhaps the most famous of all tales in the Beedle collection. Referenced in the last volume of  Harry Potter, it speaks of true wisdom and the realization that death is not an enemy.

The Tales of Beedle The Bard is especially handwritten and illustrated for seven people in JK Rowling’s life who contributed to her success. Its found its way to the public after the seventh copy was auctioned for charity. Now that public editions have been distributed, Rowling also decided to attach it to another charity she co-founded last 2005. The Children’s High Level Group hopes to aid children kept in institutions mostly known as orphanages.

Soon after getting a hold of my copy, I threw everything aside and sat in my terrace, reading. I like the book a lot. Not only because it was written by my favourite author of all time, but also because it reminds me of my love affair with fantastical stories that started when I was so young. It is with these pockets of interlude that sends me speeding back to relaxation.

Notes:

The Tales Of Beedle The Bard

Written By British Novelist JK Rowling

Published By Children’s High Level Group in association with Arthur A. Levine, an imprint of Scholastic Inc.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

