MMFF: A Load of Cock And Bull

1 12 2008

Is there anyone else out there who hates the MMF (Metro Manila Film Festival)? Because I do.

mmfflogoIf you want to know how lousy the local film idustry is, go see the entries for the MMFF twenty four days from now. You will be treated with the highlights and low lifes, I mean lowlights of the producers capability. When I say highlights, that’s usually drama-tear-drench type that has every scene wrenching your heart. They bank on manipulating your emotions; mostly generic but sometimes you get lucky. By saying lowlights, these are the remaining entries that are not about drama king and queens.

I hate it with a fang. For one it forces itself to everyone when the product imposed to you is nothing but a piece of crap. No other selection but the mundane, copy cat, asinine movies they keep trying to call film. It’s a bane of moviegoers existence.

It’s true that there are decent entries to the MMF but I’d be damned if it would be more than three. The rest is just a cheap shot to trying. I hope someone out there realizes that it’s no use. The movie industry is a joke, and by saying that I only mean the fraud that they put in the MMF list. We have continually imitated the American’s that the pretense cost us a generation feeling the need to just rather wait for the two week trash blah blah festival to pass by. Trust me, this is how producers go about their brainstorming. I know because I use to work with them. The film industry will take the pulse of the nation by looking at the US Box-Office and writers have to bend their craft to their liking. No wonder no one (save the veterans who so willingly and bravely braze these monstrous producers) ever stands out, and by standout meaning the “Sofia Coppola production” type. After that, they’ll peg their product from it and try to reach the technology we so excruciatingly don’t have. For two weeks, starting Christmas Day it’ll run under the pretense that the industry is flourishing. When really it’s the prohibition of foreign films that’s causing people to veer from it. It’s in those two weeks I keep telling myself I’m not in North Korea or Twilight Zone. How else will you call this type of enforcement but fascist and a nightmare.

Another thing I don’t like about MMF is how stupid they think the people are. Well I admit there are unintelligent people out there who think that these are good films – every square inch of the world has their share of uneducated yahoos – but the rest have full functioning brains. They are the type that would rather sit at home, be with their family and enjoy the Holiday’s without having to resolve themselves to these pointless presentation they call MMF. The funny part is, the moment it’s over, the all knowing people run to the theatres to treat themselves with decent and fulfilling movies. That my dear, is the true gauge of how bad and inadequate the local movie industry is.

I tried to make amends last year by sitting in a two hour putrid derivative entry. It did not change my opinion.

Actions

Information

One response

22 12 2008
Better Films, But Not Until Next Year « thinking aloud

[…] for the holidays. If it wasn’t for the ridiculously autocratic, pretentious and equally hopeless MMF, this would have been an icing on everyone’s holiday cake. So as I speak (or write), I am busying […]

Leave a Reply

