Of Escapes, Disconnecting And Staying Sane

10 11 2008

I have an indelible need to disconnect. From you, from work, from friends, from family, from the city, from the life that I know and from me. And in order to achieve that, I have to compartmentalize my escape.

Everyone who knows me know that I dive in books and in case I am in the middle of one, I can never be bothered. Second, I escape to the theatre. So at least even in the small confines of the cinema I get transported somewhere that is inconceivably not here but somewhere else in the realm of never-never-where. Third, I travel. Backpacking have been a thing for me and allowing myself to get lost anywhere and everywhere have always been a pursuit. To some, it,s a sure way to get one’s self in danger but to the healthy progressive mind, it’s a hearty adventure and learning.

To escape is to disconnect from all that is ever constant in your normal life. It is not to throw things to a disarray and leave responsibilities rashly but to enjoy an interlude; may your life be a-okay or just typically toxic. It’s a way to stay sane and interesting- which we all know gets a little more difficult with age. You either grow interestingly weird/ boring or interestingly fascinating. The boredom of life need not be as per usual, you can always beg to disagree.

You take the pieces of the dreams that you had

Cause you don’t like the way they seem to be going

You cut them up and spread them out on the floor

You’re full of hope as you begin rearranging

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

