To The Only Thing That Was Once Right

13 10 2008

I’m thinking about you.

Although our road took a separate turn, I must admit that seeing and talking to you again brought me to that same peaceful place our old relationship use to create. Sitting with you in the slowly fading light of day, brought me to clarity that this is how our relationship will be no matter how hard we work on it. Perhaps what brings me resolution to the broken “us” is that we both know, this is as good as it gets. And reconciling our belief to it somehow appeases me. And it shows that it has settled in you too.

It was no easy trip unlearning you. The thought that we can make beautiful stories in our head but fail to bring it about is the hardest to put right. It might have been one of those good stories we can tell fifty years from now and smile about, but we know that’s not going to happen. I acknowledge the fact that you tried and you have to believe that I tried too. And our harmony was both our strength and weakness; talk about irony. We made it right for all the wrong reason and we fought for it not because of the need to be together but the fear of defeat. Interestingly enough, the more we held on to us the more we got lost. What an aimless trip.

But for whatever it’s worth I’m happy you took that road with me. I learned a lot about myself and my limitations. I learned patience and kindness. And I learned about letting go and identifying if the game is up. And yeah, I also learned how to forgive without the residuals of anonymity.

See you around.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

