The Chronicles of Narnia: Prince Caspian

11 06 2008

I’m suckers for excellent battle sequence … and if it has a virtuous musical scoring, all the better.

I had to put off watching movies for two weeks owing the need to recuperate from the last tragedy that I witnessed (What Happens In Vegas and Indiana Jones). And when I thought of Chronicles of Narnia Prince Caspian, I told myself that I don’t need one more screwed up movie to lose my temper on. But after summoning my courage to battle the unknown, I took it upon myself to put this in schedule.

Narnia, fast forward to 1300 years later has fallen. The trees no longer dance, the animals treated so savagely stopped talking and the magnificence that is Narnia is now nothing but a superstition. The Telmarines now rule, but their kingdom is filled with malice. On the night the Regent Miraz, finds himself with an heir he summons the guards to execute the rightful owner of the thrown, Prince Caspian. But before the plan is completed Caspian blows a horn to summon the Kings and Queens of Old for aid. Enter the slightly older Pevensie children.

I truly had no expectation, as I was not amused with the first rendition of The Lion, The Witch And The Wardrobe. But I found myself most entertained and definitely engrossed with this second instalment. It is true that it is a great feat to squish a 15 Chapter book to two and a half hour presentation without screwing things up, but Prince Caspian was able to deliver quite well. Although there was a tad bit of incoherence on the characters pinch and turning points the viewers was treated to an exhilarating ride throughout the fighting scenes.

I especially liked when the Pevensies and Prince Caspian rode in the claws of the giant eagles and I loved how the director was able to capture the reverberating energy of the battle scene. It is good to note that this is brought about by superb sequence editing and musical score. Genuinely enough, music tightens every nooks and crannies and dictates the emotion the cinematographer is trying to convey. The segmentation of the score was able to perfect the story telling and it built stronger creative points of every scene. It was rousing and one is either dead or daft to not know. 

The new character is also well placed. It was wise to sign a relatively unknown Ben Barnes as Prince Caspian because he fit the role well and we won’t mistake him to any other face. The character, Prince Caspian, seemed ready to take the lead for his kingdom but a little too young for politics. This was when Ben Barnes did a good job. His face, physic and his reluctance transferred condor. He also was able to convey the charisma needed from a young Prince in the screen. Contrary to popular belief, Prince Caspian is not a child in C.S. Lewis’ novel. He is just around the age of Peter Pevensie, and having the two actor (Ben Barnes and William Moseley) stand together created a perfect harmony in the narrative. Although the story is particularly darker and primal, one will be surprised to know that there will be no gore here.

All in all I was entertained, the fast build up, tension amongst characters and the proverbial terrorism created the right magic needed to lure.

Ratings:

Actions

Information




